Senegal’s president dissolves government


Senegalese President Macky Sall has signed four decrees to dissolve his government.

No reason was given for the move or when the new cabinet is likely to be formed. The dissolved government had 32 ministers and three state secretaries.

A statement from the Presidency said outgoing ministers and secretaries of state are charged with carrying out their affairs while awaiting the installation of the new government.

President Sall won a second term of five years in March 2019, but his opponents accused him of preventing some of his main rivals from running.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *