Inauguration of some Traditional Councils in Volta Region.

The Ministry of Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs has created and inaugurated about eleven (11) more Traditional Councils in The Volta Region.

In line with section 12 (1) and (2) of the Chieftaincy Act 2008 (Act 759) which provides that:

“12 (1) There shall be a Traditional Council in each traditional area.

(2) The name and members of each Traditional Council shall be stated in the National Register of Chiefs maintained under section 59 of the Act”, the Chieftaincy Minister, Kofi Dzamesi who inaugurated these Councils, told Parliament Wednesday.

The newly inaugurated Councils are as follows: Aflao, Avenor, Vakpo, Adaklu, Aflfe and Battor.

The rest are: Logba, Nyagbo, Wusuta, Ziavi and Achode.

According to the Minister, “since 2017 up to February 1, 2019, when by Constitutional Instrument (CI) two Regions were created out of the previously existing Volta Region, eleven traditional councils had been created.”

Story filed Edzorna Francis Mensah.

Leave a Reply