The Fourth of July – also known as Independence Day – is America’s biggest national holiday and a time for celebration.

Independence Day celebrates America’s independence from the British Empire.
It is a federal holiday in the United States commemorating the adoption of the Declaration of Independence on July 4, 1776.

In 1775, the 13 colonies that made up America declared a war of independence against Britain.The British had inhabited America since 1587 and exploited their resources such as tobacco and tea.

Tensions began to rise between the British and Americans as the British Government pushed for their own financial gain and continued to exploit American goods through taxation.

Founding Father and head of the Sons of Liberty organisation Samuel Adams, and his men, boarded three ships in Boston harbour and threw 342 chests of tea overboard.

This became known as The Boston Tea Party of 1773.

The Boston Tea Party was one of the main events that started the American Revolutionary War.

Fourth of July celebrations have taken various forms across the centuries.
Nowadays, fireworks are one of the most common ways to celebrate Independence Day.

Displays are held in every major city and the White House also puts on its own show on the South Lawn.

Generally, Fourth of July is a time to spend with family and friends, eating BBQs, watching firework displays and parades while surrounded by a large quantity of red, white and blue, stars and stripes themed paraphernalia.

Leave a Reply