Helga Gokah

Helga Gokah, Sportscaster, producer on Ghana Broadcasting Corporation’s Uniiq fm and an Analyst on GTV Sports and Akosua Adjei (Lawrencia Nyamekye Adjei) also a Sportscaster on Uniiq fm as well as Presenter and Producer on GTV Sports+ are set to be honoured at the third edition of the Sports Women Achievers Awards.

Women In sports Achievers Award, WISA, is an initiative of Madam Gloria Commodore. The award scheme seeks to honor women in various aspects of the industry from administrators, athletes, coaches and media practitioners. Ms Gokah and Ms Adjei are being awarded for promoting Women in Sports and also using their platform to always push for better treatment for women involved in various disciplines.

 Ms Gokah is a graduate of the African University College of Communication. She specializes in Boxing and football where she does a phenomenal job. Ms. Gokah through her presentation on Radio and TV has always portrayed what WISA stands for and hope to achieve in the near future for Women. She is also an active member of the Sports Writers Association of Ghana and an AIPS. Still, in her early years in the industry, she has covered three (3) Africa Cup of Nations and such an honor bestowed on her could not have come at a better time.

Akosua Adjei

Ms Adjei on the other hand looks more into the human side of stories and tries to bring out the stories behind the scenes. Ms Adjei is a graduate of the University of Cape Coast. She also represented the Sports Writers of Ghana and AIPS at the U-17 Women’s World Cup. She also shines a light on all things female sports and keeps on preaching the culture of representation for female athletes.

 Other Sports Writers and Sportscasters who will also be awarded are Juliet Bawuah of AWSS, Nana Akua Amankwa, Beatrice Laryea, Angela Akua Asante of Triple A, Genevieve Naa Amerley Quaye of NB Sports and Veronica Commey.

This year, five (5) teams will be awarded including GRA Royal Ladies Hockey Team, Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies Football Team, Ghana Taekwondo, Ghana Judo Team, Conquerors Rugby Team and 25 individuals will be awarded. The Awards ceremony comes off at the multipurpose court of the Accra Sports Stadium on Saturday September 28, 2019.


  1. Beatrice Afful – Fitness Ambassador
  2. Patience Ofei – Keep Fit Instructor of GAFKCA,
  3. Mercy Addy – Former national athlete
  4. Grace Armah – Former national athlete
  5. Enyonam Broom – NSA Secretary
  6. Abigail Twumasiwaa Okanta – Sports Supporter
  7. Rose Yeboah – High Jump Gold Medalist
  8. Grace Obour – Long Jump Silver Medalist
  9. Winnifred Ntumy – Weightlifting Bronze Medalist
  10. Kelsey Woname – Fencer
  11. Portia Adukwei Allotey, Multi Talented Sportswoman
  12. Vanessa Kolokie – Body Builder
  13. Victoria Agbeyeye – Body Builder
  14. Ramatu Quaye – Boxer
  15. Patience Borkor – Handball Coach
  16. Adizatu Kubrah Mustapha – Footballer
  17. Naomi Anima – Footballer
  18. Uwaisa Mawia -. Footballer
  19. Madam Kokui Hanson of Kwese TV – Media
  20. Juliet Bawuah of AWSS – Media
  21. Nana Akua Amankwa of TV3 – Media
  22. Beatrice Laryea of Graphic Communications – Media
  23. Lawrencia Nyamekye Adjei (Akosua Adjei) of GTV Sports – Media
  24. Helga Gokah of Uniq FM- Media
  25. Angela Akua Asante of Triple A Media – Media
  26. Genevieve Naa Amerley Quaye of NB Sports – Media
  27. Veronica Commey formerly of GNA – Media
  28. GRA Royal Ladies Hockey Team
  29. Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies Football Team
  30. Ghana Taekwondo
  31. Ghana Judo Team
  32. Conquerors Rugby Team
  33. Die Hard Supporters Union

Leave a Reply