The National Democratic Congress (NDC) will  present 14 of its incumbent Members of Parliament, (MPs) in the Volta Region and four new entrants as parliamentary candidates in the 2020 general election.

Out of the 18 constituencies in the region thirteen incumbents NDC MPs’ were retained in the just ended parliamentary primaries with the four newly elected candidates as well as one unopposed candidate.

Prior to the parliamentary primaries, the Anlo, Keta, Ketu South and Hohoe constituencies were declared vacant by the NDC as  current MPs’ Kofi Humado, Richard Quashigah, Fifi Kwetey and Bernice Heloo declined to contest for another term.

In effect, a former Deputy Minister for Tourism, Dzifa Gomashie has been elected as Candidate for the Ketu South seat, a do rmer Municipal Chief Executive (MCE), for Hohoe, Prof Margaret Kweku will represent the Hohoe Constituency, Kwame Dzidzorli Gakpey for the Keta Constituency and Richard Kwame Sefe for the Anlo seat.

Incumbents NDC MPs’ in the Kpando, North and South Dayi, Afadzato South, Ho West and Central, Ketu North, Akatsi North and South, Adaklu and North, Central and South Tongu Constituencies relatively won by wide margins despite some of the Constituencies being thought to be keenly contested prior to the primaries.

The MP for Agortime Ziope, Charles Agbeve is the only candidate in the region who went unopposed.

Apart from the Ho West and Central Constituencies where the electoral process were halted earlier for misunderstandings between some aspirants, the entire exercise was generally smooth and peaceful in the region.

The incumbent MP for Ho Central, Benjamin Kpodo in his victory speech urged members of the Party in the region to bury their differences to establish a formidable team ahead of the 2020 general elections in a bid to wrestle power from the New Patriotic Party.

Leave a Reply