GBC Ghana Online

President Akufo-Addo makes new appointments; KT Hammond heads to Trade Ministry

By: Henrietta Afful

President Akufo-Addo has made new ministerial appointments. The appointments comprises reshuffle, elevations and replacement. The nominees are to act until they are vetted and approved by Parliament.

Reading the list of nominees out, Speaker of Parliament, Alban Sumana Bagbin indicated that the Member of Parliament (MP) for Adansi Asokwa and former Deputy Minister of Energy, Kobina Tahiru Hammond has been nominated as Minister of Trade and Industry.

Bryan Acheampong – Food and Agriculture Minister-Designate

Abetifi MP and former Minister of State at the Presidency, Bryan Acheampong heads to the Ministry of Food and Agriculture.

Stephen Asamoah Boateng, Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs Minister Designate

Former Director General of the State Interests and Governance Authority (SIGA), Stephen Asamoah Boateng will head the Ministry of Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs.

Dr Mohammed Anim Adam, Minister of State at the Finance Ministry.

The MP for Karaga and Deputy Minister for Energy, Dr Mohammed Anim Adam has been elevated as a Minister of State at the Finance Ministry. Dr Anim Adam replaces Charles Adu Boahen, who resigned last year over allegations of conflict of interest.


Osei Bonsu Amoah, Local Government, Decentralisation and Rural Development Minister-Designate

A Deputy Minister of Local Government, Decentralisation and Rural Development and MP for Akuapim South, Osei Bonsu Amoah has been elevated as a Minister of State at the the same Ministry.

Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry, Herbert Krapa has been reassigned to the Ministry of Energy as Deputy Minister to replace Dr Anim Adam.

Herbert Krapa – Deputy Energy Minister-Designate

MP for Nhyiaeso, Dr Stephen Amoah is heading to the Ministry of Trade and Industry as a Deputy Minister.

Dr Stephen Amoah – Deputy Trade Minister-Designate

The appointments follow the resignation of Trade Minister, Alan Kyerematen, Minister of Food and Agriculture; Dr Osei Akoto and Minister of Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs, Ebenezer Kojo Kum.

Mr Kyerematen resigned last month to focus on his bid to lead the NPP as its flagbearer in the 2024 general elections.

Exit mobile version