GJA @70

Two (2), GBC journalists Oppong Kwarteng, and Janet Abena Quainoo have been nominated to receive awards at the 24th Ghana Journalists Association, (GJA), media award slated for Saturday, November 23, at the Gold Coast Kempinski Hotel in Accra.

The event will climax the 70th Anniversary celebration of the Association.

In all forty-eight, (48) have been nominated for this year’s awards.

They are, Alice Aryeetey, (GHOne TV), Abigail Annoh, (Ghanaian Times), Adu Gyamfi Marfo (Osagyefo FM), Alberto Mario Noreti (The Spectator), Anim Addo, (UTV), Beryl Ernestina Richter (Joy News), Clara Mlano, (GTV), Charles Benoni Okine, (Graphic Business), Charles Andoh, (the Mirror), Doreen Hammond (Daily Graphic), Edmund Smith-Asante (Daily Graphic) and Evelyn Tengmaa, (TV3), Kwaku Osei Bonsu (GNA), Robert Tachie-Menso Jnr, (GNA), Proper Kuorsoh (GNA), Anthony Bells Kafui Kanyi, (GNA), Albert Oppong-Ansah, (GNA).

Others are Geoffrey Buta, (Spectator), Grace Nana Esi Boateng, (Oman FM), John Vigah, (Ghanaian Times), Justice Baidoo, (Joy News), Kester Aburam Korankye, (Graphic Business), Kingsley Hope, (Ghanaian Times), Kofi Amoah, (TV Africa), Maclean Kwofi, (Graphic Business), Maxwell Akalaare Adombila, (Graphic Business), Moses Dotsey Aklorbortu, (Graphic Business), Nabil Ahmed Rufai, (GHOne TV) and Nana Konadu Agyeman, (Daily Graphic).

The rest are Peter Quao Adattor, (TV3), Portia Garbo, (TV3), Rebecca Kwei, (The Mirror), Samuel Adadi Akapule, (Ghanaian Times), Dan Kweku Yeboah, (Peace FM), Seth Kwame Boateng, (joy News), Ina Thalia Quansah, (Joy News) and Kabu Nartey, (Student Journalist GIJ).

Announcing this at a brief ceremony on Monday, the Chairperson of the Seven-Member Awards Committee, Mrs. Betty Apau Oppong, said a total of 368 entries from various categories were received for evaluation.

She gave the criteria for selection as accuracy, balance, relevance, impact, background, ethical standard, initiative and clarity.

Mrs. Apau-Oppong said at the end the assessment, the work of 39 individuals won awards in different categories including Science, Environment, Health, Water, Hygiene and Sanitation and Agriculture.

The rest are Oil and gas, Rural Reporting and Photojournalism, Development Journalist for furthering Sustainable Development Goal, Investigative Reporting, Nutrition, Health, Political Reporting and Human Rights.

“The final outcome reflect the work undertaken by the committee as a true non-biased, fair and professional evaluation of the quality and standard of entries received,” she added.

Mrs. Apau-Oppong disclosed that some individuals and institutions who for the past years supported the GJA will be recognize and awarded.

The GJA President, Roland Affail Monney, congratulated the nominees and urged those who submitted stories but were not shot-listed to work hard to be able to win next year.

The other committee members were, Gabby Bosompem, the Secretary, Albert Sam, Tina Aforo-Yeboah, Peter Agbeko, Kwasi Kopdo and Akwasi Agyemang.

Leave a Reply