Close this search box.

Use your short stay in office to deliver good performance- President Akufo-Addo to new Ministers 


By Ivan Amponsah 

President Akufo-Addo has challenged the new batch of Ministers and Deputies to use the next 7 months to deliver good performance to Ghanaians.

President Akufo-Addo urged the new Ministers to be focused, resolute, and serve the country with honesty and competency in their new high offices. 

When he took them through their oath, President Akufo-Addo laid emphasis on the call to provide public service and not to appropriate personal gain. 

He reminded them to stay the course to help him achieve his target and that their conduct will determine the success of his administration. 

This batch of Ministers and Deputies appointed by President Akufo-Addo are to support his government for the remainder of his tenure as President. 

There was a long delay, but they got approved last Friday, May 17, 2024. Of the number, eight are sector Ministers, two Regional Ministers and 14 Deputy Ministers. Dr Bernard Okoe-Boye heads the Ministry of Health; Madam Ophelia Mensah Hayford goes to the Ministry of Environment Science, Technology and Innovation; Madam Fatimatu Abubakar is the Information Minister; with Madam Dakoa Newman as Gender Minister. Mr Martin Adjei-Mensah Korsah heads the Local Government Ministry, and Mr. Andrew Egyapa Mercer is the Tourism Minister.

The Greater Accra Regional Minister is Mr Daniel Titus Glover, and Mr Daniel Machator is the Minister for the Oti Region. Madam Abena Osei-Asare is now Minister of State at the Ministry of Finance. The Deputy Ministers are Mr Sylvester Tetteh, Deputy Minister for Information; Mr Vincent Ekow Assafuah, Deputy Minister for Local Government, Rural Development and Decentralisation; and Mr. Charles Acheampong, Deputy Communications Minister, while Madam Adelaide Ntim and Mr Alexander Akwasi Acquah go to the Ministry of Health as Deputy Ministers. 

Dr. Prince Armah is the Deputy Minister for Works and Housing, while, Mr. Akwasi Konadu is Deputy Minister for the Lands and Natural Resources Ministry. Mr. Musah Abdul Aziz Ayabah is the Deputy Minister for Fisheries and Aquaculture Development. 

Mr John Kobina Abbam Aboah Sanie and Mr. Collins Skoal Mensah serve as Deputy Ministers for Energy. Prof. Kingsley Nyarko, is the Deputy Education Minister, and Dr. Festus Awuah Kwofie is the Deputy Minister at the Employment and Labour Relations Ministry. Dr. Benjamin Sekyere Amoah, is the Deputy Gender Minister, and Dr. Alexander Ampaabeng is a Deputy Minister at the Ministry of Finance.

President Akufo-Addo urged the new additions to be focused and discharge their duties with humility.

“An opportunity is offered you serve your country in an elevated capacity, seize the opportunity with humility but with determination; and perform, guided always by Almighty God.”

He urged them to be mindful of their status as public servants. 

”We are called into these public appointments to provide public service not appropriate personal gain”. 

On behalf of the new Ministers, the Greater Accra Regional Minister, Mr. Daniel Titus Glover, pledged to work to better the lives of Ghanaians. 

”Mr. President we will discharge our duties diligently and demonstrate attributes of professionalism Service of humility and respect for the people of this country,” he noted.

More stories here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *