Close this search box.

President Akufo-Addo swears new ministers into office


The President, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, has defended his track record in office, describing it as one of the best in the Fourth Republic.

He said he was extremely proud of the record in office and the considerable achievements recorded in all sectors of national life. The President noted that he has not betrayed the mandate Ghanaians conferred on him and is satisfied with his performance as President.

Speaking after the swearing-in of 24 Ministers and Deputy Ministers at the Jubilee House, President Akufo-Addo urged the new appointees to work tirelessly to realise his mandate, which is to help citizens have access to opportunities for growth and prosperity.

President Akufo-Addo.

This will also help party, its Presidential and parliamentary candidates achieve success in the upcoming elections.

The swearing of the Eight sector Ministers, two Regional Ministers and 14 Deputy Ministers follows the approval in Parliament on Friday. The eight Ministers sworn in include Mrs Abena Osei-Asare, Minister of State for the Ministry of Finance; Andrew Kofi Egyapa Mercer, Minister for Tourism, Art and Culture; Madam Lydia Seyram Alhassan, Minister for Sanitation and Water Resources; and Martin Kwaku Adjei-Mensah Korsah, Minister for Local Government, Rural Development and Decentralisation. 

The rest are Madam Ophelia Mensah Hayford, Minister for Environmental, Science Technology and Innovation; Madam Darkoa Newman, Minister for Gender, Children and Social Protection; Dr Bernard Okoe-Boye, Minister for Health; and Madam Fatimatu Abubakar, Minister for Information. 

The Regional Ministers are Daniel Nii Kwartei Titus Glover, Greater Accra Regional Minister, and Daniel Machator, Minister for Oti Region. 

The 14 Deputy Ministers-Designate include Dr Benjamin Sekyere Yeboah, Deputy Minister for Gender, Children and Social Protection; Sylvester Tetteh, Deputy Minister for Information; Charles Acheampong, Deputy Minister for Communications and Digitisation; and Madam Adelaide Ntim, Deputy Minister for Health. 

The rest are Alexander Akwasi Acquah, also a Deputy Minister for Health; Vincent Ekow Assafuah, Deputy Minister for Local Government, Rural Development and Decentralisation; and  John Kobina Abbam Aboah Sanie, a Deputy Minister  for Energy. 

Others are Collins Adomako Mensah, also a Deputy Minister for Energy; Dr Prince Hamidu Armah, Deputy Minister for Works and Housing; Professor Kingsley Nyarko, a Deputy Minister for Education; and Dr Festus Awuah Kwofie, Deputy Minister  for Employment, Labour Relations and Pensions. 

Also included are Akwasi Konadu, Deputy Minister for Lands and Natural Resources; Musah Abdul Aziz Ayaba, Deputy Minister for Fisheries and Aquaculture Development and Dr Alexander Ampaabeng, a Deputy Minister for Finance. The president who administered the Oaths of office,  Secrecy and Allegiance was hopeful the appointees could make an impact seven months to the end of his term in office.

He urged them to work tirelessly for the realisation of his mandate. President Akufo-Addo noted that thier contribution will not only lead to the success of the NPP but also to its Presidential Candidate and that of its parliamentary Candidates. He reminded them of the solemn commitment made by the NPP to serve Ghanaians honestly and competently.

The President asked them to file their asset declarations promptly and remain above reproach in their public dealings. President Akufo-Addo tasked them to remain resolute and ignore the naysayers and fabricators.

To the Ministers, who are also Parliamentarians, the President advised them to combine their dual roles effectively. He said there would be no excuse to neglect their parliamentary obligations. On his record in government, the President described it as one of the best in the 4th Republic.

Before the start of the swearing-in ceremony, a minute of silence was observed for Kwasi Atta, the driver who lost his life in that gory accident.

More stories here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *