At least 17 women have so far been elected by delegates of the NDC to contest Parliamentary elections in 11 constituencies, across the country for the 2020 general election.

That constitutes about 10 point 8 percent of the total 157 elected in the first batch of the Parliamentary primaries held Nationwide.

Out of the number, Greater Accra and Volta regions had four each, two from the Eastern, two each from Bono, Ahafo and Central and one each from the Savannah and Western regions. Whereas five of the women who won last Saturday’s Parliamentary primaries are incumbent Members of Parliament, the remaining nine are fresh faces.

Some are businesswomen, philanthropists and former district or municipal chief executives. Amongst the 17 women who won were Dr Zanetor Rawlings (Klottey Korley), Helen Ntoso (Krachi West), Joycelyn Tetteh (North Dayi) and Elikplim Akurugu (Dome-Kwabenya). In the new Abirem Constituency in the Eastern Region, a former Regional Minister, Mavis Ama Frimpong, won the contest with 622 votes to become the first female to contest in the area. She beat a former DCE for the area, Paul Aboagye-Dadzie, who got 100 votes.

Leave a Reply