The two main political parties in Ghana, the New Patrotic Party, (NPP) and the National Democratic Congress, (NDC) are set for the Ayawaso West Wuogon Constituency by-elections, slated for January 31, following the successful election of their candidates.

The Electoral Commission, (EC), has set Thursday, January 10 to Saturday, January 12  for submission of nominations while pegging the filing fee at ten thousand Ghana Cedis.

The EC announced that nominations will be received at its Ayawaso District Office between 9 am and 12 noon and 2 pm to 5 pm each day.

Lydia S. Alhassan

The NPP in its primary held Saturday, December 29, 2018, elected a widow of the late MP Emmanuel Kyeremateng Agyarko, Lydia S. Alhassan to represent the party.

Whilst the NDC elected Delali Kwasi Brempong to represent the party in the upcoming by-election.

Delali Kwasi Brempong

Mr. Brempong is the same candidate who represented the NDC in the 2016 parliamentary election and lost to the deceased, Agyarko of the NPP.

Earlier, Ghanaian actor John Dumelo, had picked nomination forms for the contest but failed to submit it.

Mr. Dumelo’s decision to pull out from the contest is said to be that he was not a registered voter in the constituency and could not have qualified to contest.

Also Rev. Edward Agyekum Kufuor, son of former President John Agyekum Kufuor, withdrew from the NPP by-election race.

The Ayawaso West Wuogon seat became vacant following the death of Kyeremateng Agyarko, who died at the age of 60 on Wednesday, November 21, 2018.

He will be buried on January 26, 2019 at Odumase-Krobo, his hometown.

Leave a Reply