Close this search box.

New Ministers sworn into office at Jubilee House


By: Mercy Darko

Three Ministers, two Ministers of State and a Deputy Minister have received their Instruments of Appointment after being sworn in by President Akufo-Addo following their successful vetting and approval by Parliament.

In his advice to the new appointees, the President, who did not mince words impressed on them to seek the interest of the nation and not their own personal interests, especially as the government works to put the economy back on the right footing.

He said while government awaits the approval of the IMF facility, the new appointees have the task to serve in all honesty in all their engagements.

He also entreated them to find ways to balance their duty as Members of Parliament with their new task.

The new appointees are the Trade and Industry Minister, K. T. Hammond and his Deputy Dr Stephen Amoah, Minister for Food and Agriculture, Bryan Acheampong and Minister for Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs, Stephen Asamoah Boateng.

Dr Mohammed Amin Adam is the Minister of State at the Ministry of Finance and Osei Bonsu Amoah will serve as the Minister of State at the Local Government, Decentralization and Rural Development Ministry.

President Akufo-Addo stated that Ghana just like other nations is faced with difficulties which requires an all-hands-on deck approach to change the narrative.

He challenged the new appointees to bring their expertise to bear to help build the economy, stressing that their appointment has come at a critical moment. Hence their success in this new endeavour will be key in the Country’s development.

The Minister for Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs, Stephen Asamoah Boateng who spoke on behalf of his colleagues expressed appreciation for the opportunity to serve.

He assured the President of their commitment to the Country’s development and consolidate the gains made over the years.

The Ministers took the Oaths of Allegiance, Office and Secrecy.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *