Close this search box.

William Troost Ekong, Ronwen Williams, and Emilio Nsue win top awards at AFCON 2023


By: Nana Kwame Bediako 

The 34th edition of the Africa Cup of Nations came to a close on Sunday, February 11, 2024, at the Alassane Ouattara Stadium in Abidjan, with the Super Eagles losing the trophy to the host nation, Côte d’Ivoire.

Côte d’Ivoire put up a wonderful display as they beat Nigeria by 2:1. Franck Kessie and Sebastien Haller scored the two decisive goals to ensure the Elephants clinched their third AFCON trophy.

Below is the full list of awards given at the AFCON:

TotalEnergies Man of the Competition

William Troost-Ekong, Nigeria

Best Young Player Award

Simon Adingra, Ivory Coast

Puma Golden Boot winner

Emilio Nsue, Equatorial Guinea (5 goals)

Puma Silver Boot Winner

Gelson Dala-Angola (4 goals)

Puma Bronze Boot Winner

Mostafa Mohamed, Egypt (4 goals)

Best Coach Award

Emerse Faé, Côte d’Ivoire

Ecobank Best Goalkeeper

Ronwen Williams, South Africa

Air Côte d’Ivoire Fair Play Team Award

South Africa

More stories here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *