Close this search box.

VGMA22 : List of Awardees on Day 1


VGMA has over the years awarded hard working artist in order to empower them put Ghanaian music across the globe.

This annual event has either put smiles on the faces of artist or tears and better still empower young artist and celebrated ones to put more into their craft to enable them bag awards during that time of the calendar.

The 22nd edition of the Vodafone Ghana Music Awards was held on Friday, June 24 which awarded thirteen deserving artist on the first day of the event, which witnessed artists like Kofi Kinaata making history after winning Songwriter of the Year award for the fourth time.

Below is the list of winners announced on Day 1:

Record of the Year

Be Your Own Beautiful – Adomaa
Daddy’s Little Girl – Adina (Winner)
Fancy – Amaarae
Die 4 U – Cina Soul
Too Much – Epixode
Diplomatic Teef – Trigmatic
Comot – Worlasi
Mmusuo – YaaYaa

Sound Engineer of the year (The award goes to one who produced the song which won the Record of the Year)

Richie Mensah  (Winner)

Instrumentalist of the Year

Joshua Moszi
Nana Yaw Sarfo  (Winner)
Prince Sennah
Emmanuel Bludo
Enoch Owuraku Kissi

Traditional Artiste of the Year

Manhyia Tete Nwomkro  (Winner)

Songwriter of the Year

Diana Hamilton – Adom
Kofi Kinaata – Behind the Scenes (Winner)
Adina – Hyedin
Joe Mettle – Yesu Mo
Abiana – Adun Lei
Epixode – Too Much

Music for Good

Yaayaa (Winner)

Male Vocalist of the Year

Joe Mettle – Yesu Mo
Akwaboah – Posti Me
MOGmusic – Oguamma  (Winner)
Kyei Mensah – Take It All
Kingsley Amporful – God

Female Vocalist of the Year

Abiana – Adun Lei  (Winner)
Adina – Hear Me
Cina Soul – Die 4 U
YaaYaa – Mmusuo
Efe Grace – Lord Have Your Way
Enuonyam – Fill Me

Best Group of the Year

Bethel Revival Choir
Dead Peepol
Keche  (Winner)

Producer of the Year

Chris Rich Beats
Yung Demz
Street Beatz
Richie Mensah  (Winner)
MOG Beatz
Willis Beatz

Best African Artiste

Burna Boy
Master KG  (Winner)
Fireboy DML
Omah Lay

Best Video of the Year

Why – Adina
Fancy – Amaarae
Adom – Diana Hamilton
Cold – Joey B
Open Gate – Kuami Eugene
On the Street – Kweku Smoke
Let Me Know – Mr Drew
Baddest Boss – MzVee  (Winner)
Kpa – Okyeame Kwame
Thomas Pompoyeyaw Rmx – Pappy Kojo

Lifetime Achievement Award

Bob Pinodo  (Winner)

Story filed by: YAW WEREKO AMPOMAH

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *