Close this search box.

NMC constitutes new boards for state-owned media – Prof. Samuel Debrah Chairman, GBC

Prof. Samuel Debrah

The National Media Commission (NMC) has constituted new governing boards for public corporations, managing the four state-owned media.

These  are the Ghana Broadcasting Corporation, Graphic Communications Group Limited (GCGL), Ghana News Agency (GNA), and New Times Corporation.

Prof. Samuel Debrah is the new Board Chairman for GBC.

He is a Professor of Surgery at School of Medical Sciences, University of Cape Coast, Vice-President, Ghana college of physicians and surgeons and Member, Ghana Academy of Arts and sciences. His distinguished medical career is complimented by service on other important national and international committees and boards including a brief stint at medical journalism.

He is married to a former journalist and they have three daughters.

The appointment is in accordance with article 168 of the Constitution and section 2(1)(e) of the National Media Commission Act, 1993 (Act 449). A statement dated March 2, 2022, signed by the Executive Secretary of the NMC, Mr George Sarpong said the appointment was in consultation with the President.

Members of the new governing boards are:

Ghana Broadcasting Corporation

Prof. Samuel Debrah- Chairman

Mrs. Efuah Ghartey

Dr. Kwame Nyamekye

Mrs. Ama Serwah Nerquay

Mr. Peter Yarquah

Mr. Thomas Bronii

Mr. Adjei Afriyie Nketia

Mr. Samuel Kojo Intsiaba

Dr. Tannoh Debrah

Prof. Amin Alhassan (D-G)

Graphic Communication Group Limited

Prof. Olivia Frimpong Kwapong – Chairman

Mrs. Ivy Austin

Dr. Valentin Kwasi Mensa

Mr. Ebenezer Asante Sefa

Dr. Ama Boafo-Arthur

Mr. Ishaq Kyei-Brobbey

Yaw D. Oppong Esq.

Mr. Ato Afful (MD)

Ghana News Agency   

Mr. Ransford Tetteh

Mrs. Ivy Hoetu

Mr. Daniel Addai

Dr. N. A. Ibrahim Lartey

Mr. Peter Claver Nibepwo Sangber-Dery

Dr. Charles Kwening

Ms. Juliet Amoah

Mr. Kofi Owusu (GM)

New Times Corporation

Dr. Kwaku Rockson

Prof. Kofi Quashigah

Mrs. Victoria Natsu

Mr. Donald Gwira

Prof. Kwasi Opoku-Amankwa

Mr. Kofi Marrah

Mr. Samuel Akwasi S. Sarfo

Ms. Doris Adabasu Kuwornu

Mr. Adu Owusu (MD)

For more news read

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *