The Member of Parliament (MP) for Akatsi South, Bernard Ahiafor, has presented cash awards to the tune of over Twenty Thousand  Ghana Cedis (GHc20, 000. 00) to fourteen (14) deserving past students of Akatsi Senior High Secondary Technical School (AKAST) , who have excelled in their external examinations, 2016 and 2017 respectively.

He also honoured two (2) Teachers with citations and flat screen TV sets who emerged as best departmental Teachers as determined by The Board of Governance of AKAST chaired by the former Volta Regional Director of Education, Emmanuel Keteku.

The breakdown of awards are overall best student of the year, the most disciplined student of the year and Department best student for years under review.

The Akatsi Senior High Secondary Technical School Awards instituted by the MP for the area in 2014 is aimed at creating and promoting competition in the areas of teaching, learning and discipline “which would allow our dear students to grow up to be responsible citizens and to contribute meaningfully to the society.”

Addressing the students, teachers, parents and traditional rulers at the 2016/17 combined Awards ceremony at AKAST Campus on 27th September, 2018, Lawyer Ahiafor said education provides learners with capabilities essential to become economically productive for sustainable livelihoods and to contribute to peaceful, democratic societies and enhance individual well-being.

He added that, “it is undisputable fact that largely education is provided by teachers. Teachers are great contributors in achieving excellence in our nation building.”

According to him, “the responsibility of a teacher in the economic and social transformation of students to become useful in the moral fabric of society cannot however, be overemphasised. A teacher is like a light which shows the right path to people in darkness. Students must also submit themselves to learn and be disciplined. That is the very essence of being a student.”

The MP maintained that it is an incontestable need to create and promote competition among teachers as well as the students in relation to teaching, learning and discipline in our Schools, adding that, “it is for these reasons that the awards are introduced in Akatsi Secondary Technical School to be observed yearly. For undisclosed reasons, today we are having the year 2016 and 2017 together.”

He congratulated the award winners on their outstanding achievements and remarkable performance, but advised them “not to be complacent, not to relax and not to think you have conquered the world.”

On his part, the District Director of Education, Yogah Adovor urged the parents, the students and the teachers to hold on to the respective responsibilities at all times. He praised the MP for his exemplary behaviour and called on the students to emulate him.

Torbgui Ahiamadorwu Godome III, Dufia of Live, on behalf of Torgbui Dorglo Anumah VI, the Paramount Chief of Avenor Traditional Council, expressed his profound gratitude to the MP for instituting the Award Scheme in recognition of academic excellence.

Torgbui described the MP as “indefatigable, benevolent generous and selfless. He is serving us as a role model for all of us to emulate.”

According to him, the awards are meant to divert the minds of students to desist from social vices like drinking, smoking, gambling and other immoral activities.

Story by Edzorna Francis Mensah.

Leave a Reply