Joe Ghartey, Kwabena Agyepong, and Apraku fallout from NPP presidential race

Joe Ghartey, Kwabena Agyei Agyapong, and Kofi Konadu Apraku.


A former Attorney-General of Ghana, Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament and Railways and Development Minister, and current Member of Parliament (MP) for Esslkado-Ketan Constituency in the Western Region, Mr. Joe Ghartey, Kwabena Agyei Agyapong, Kofi Konadu Apraku, and Kwadwo Poku, have failed to garner enough votes to qualify them for the next phase of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) presidential race.

NPP Special Delegates Congress
Mr. Kwadwo Nsafoah Poku.

The four aspirants who failed to make it to the next stage were among the 10 who contested the Super Delegates Congress on Saturday, August 26, 2023.

The conference was held to elect five presidential aspirants to contest the party’s primaries on November 4.

The four aspirants who qualified for the primaries are Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, Vice President; Ken Agyapong, MP for Assin Central; Alan Kyerematen, former Trade Minister; and Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto, former Agriculture Minister.

However, a run-off will be held on Saturday, September 2, to decide the fate of Mr. Addai-Nimo and Mr. Boakye Agyarko after both presidential aspirants secured nine votes in the Special Delegates Conference.

More stories here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *