Parliament approves nomination of all six ministerial portfolios

Parliament approves nomination of all six ministerial portfolios

After hours of voting and counting Parliament has approved the nomination of Six new Ministers who were appointed by President Akufo-Addo.

The Ministers are; Member of Parliament for Adansi Asokwa, K.T Hammond as Minister of Trade and Industry.

Member of Parliament for Nhyiaeso, Dr. Stephen Amoah, Deputy Minister for Trade and Industry.

Mr. Bryan Acheampong, Minister for Food and Agriculture, Stephen Asamoah Boateng, Minister for Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs, Mr Osei Bonsu Amoah, Minister of State, at the Ministry of Local Government, Decentralisation and Rural Development and Dr Mohammed Amin Adam, Minister of State at the Ministry of Finance.

The Appointments Committee could not recommend the approval of the nominees on consensus compelling the House to conduct today’s vote.

The Ministers-designate would however be sworn in by President Akufo Addo to formally begin their Ministerial portfolios.

Three members of Parliament were absent during the voting process.

They are; MP for Dome Kwabenya Sarah Adwoa Safo (NPP), James Gyakye Quayson MP for Assin North (NDC) and Basoah Phillip MP for Kumawu (NPP).

More Stories Here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *