Hundreds of supporters of at least eight political parties took to the streets of Tamale today  (January 11) to protest against the decision of the Electoral Commission to compile a new voters register ahead of the General Elections in December.

The UPP, PPP, PNC, Eagle Party, APC, GCPP and the NDC are among the parties that took part in the demonstration.

The protesters clad in red attire marched through the principal streets of Tamale amidst singing and dancing.

They finally converged on the Tamale Jubilee Park where the leaders of the various parties took turns to address them.

Related image
General Secretary of the NDC, Johnson Asiedu Nketiah

The General Secretary of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), Johnson Asiedu Nketiah revealed that the demonstration in Tamale is just the beginning of nationwide activities to force the EC to change its decision.

The Minority Leader, who is also the Member of Parliament (MP) for Tamale South, Haruna Iddrisu insisted that the EC was doing the bidding of the NPP.

Leave a Reply