Close this search box.

Nominations for the 28th GJA Media Awards opens

Nominations for the 28th GJA Media Awards opens
GJA President, Albert Dwumfour

By: Emmanuel Oti Acheampong

The Ghana Journalists Association, GJA has announced that it has opened nominations for entries into its 28th Media Awards.

In a press release, the mother organization for all Journalists in Ghana announced that, entries into the 28th edition of the GJA Media Awards has been opened to members who are of good standing working within the print, electronic and online media in the country.

According to the GJA, this year’s awards event will climax the 75th anniversary celebrations of the organization and therefore promises to be a remarkable and grand event. Nominations are therefore opened from Monday June 10 to Sunday July 7, 2024.

What’s new?

Just as this year’s GJA Awards promises to be remarkable and grand, the National Executive Committee has introduced a new category in the awards scheme to honor and celebrate Lawyer Akoto Ampaw of blessed memory. The new category named Akoto Ampaw Award for Democracy and Good Governance will award Journalists who excelled in reporting on issues that positively impacted the spheres of democracy and good governance in the country.

To apply, find the necessary requirements below


The competition is open to members in good standing who are working in the print (including news agency), electronic and online media in Ghana.

Members of the National Executive and the GJA Media Awards Committee are not eligible to contest.

Entries should cover works published from January1, 2023 to December 31, 2023.

Entrants may submit entries for a maximum of two award divisions, and not more than two published works should be submitted for each award division.

However, one work shall not be entered in more than one award division.

Entrants should submit clear, original published work of each entry.

Entrants must upload a clear passport size photo for their entries.

Student journalists must upload a scanned copy of their Student ID Card for their entries.

Entrants are advised to secure strong Internet connection to ensure easy and fast uploading of entries.

Entries are open from June 10, 2024 to July 7, 2024 (1159hrs).

Entries/Nominations should be titled ‘GJA MEDIA AWARDS 2024

The GJA is NOT bound to give an award in a division if it does not merit one.

The Awards Committee shall select the overall best story from the various awards divisions for consideration by the National Executive as winner of the P. A. V. Ansah 

More Stories Here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *